Summertime, Summertime Salads

If you didn’t just read that title to the tune of Summertime Sadness by Lana Del Rey please go back and do it again. I’ll wait.

Lana is a new-ish obsession of mine, and I’m embracing her low-key (if sad) music, because it’s been the only relaxing or low-key part of my whole summer. Yup, Plan B is still in progress, full revel coming to you in about a month. So, I’ve been pretending I’m relaxing as I try to put my life into a box (which is very rejuvenating and low pressure, right? ha!) to the crooning tunes of Lana Del Rey. The only other things that feel summery to me are of course the heat (!!!), the Olympics and these beautiful salads.

Portofino Salad with Grilled Chicken, Shrimp, Goat Cheese & Pine Nuts

Grilled Salmon Salad with Mango, Grapes and Asparagus

Small Antipasto Salad with Grilled Vegetables

I can’t take credit for their creation, that was all Pomod0ro Cafe, but I can claim the accomplishment of the take down of two of them. Yes, two.

See, what had happened was: Mom & Dad got back from an overly indulgent vacation to Jamaica, and begged for requested that we have salads for dinner.  I LOVE Pomodoro’s Cafe and since I’ll have less opportunities to dine there soon, and they have wickedly good salads, and I always order the Salmon Salad, because it’s amazing, and, well it was a no brainier that we go there. (Was that enough comas for you?)

But when we arrived, the Portofino salad was on special and I just couldn’t turn down the power of Shrimp AND Goat Cheese AND Pine Nuts! So, I noshed on the insalata special and Mom had the Salmon. Dad of course had the Antipasto, and drowned it in balsamic and black pepper before I could get a picture.

Salads for dinner? Done and done..and oh so tasty, refreshing and perfect for a hot summer evening.

Oh, right…I did say I had TWO of the salads above. Now, while I am quite the little FattyFattyMooMoo I did not consume two entree salads in one night.  Nope, I still had that Salmon salad, with it’s savory grilled flavors, crisp asparagus and sweet mango, which all pairs perfectly with the house honey balsamic dressing on the brain after my summertime dinner out with the family, so I did what any crazed Florida Gal would do in the summer, I went two days later and ordered a Salmon Salad all for myself! Nom.

Have you been eating any summertime salads during this crazy heat wave we are calling summer vacation?

And now back to my scheduled blogging absence while Plan B finishes falling in place!

Love to all,
~ the summertime salad nosher gal herself, Jess

Categories: I'll Have What She's Having | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Please leave a comment, I love hearing from you!

Blog at WordPress.com.

